Yields up in 2021 soybean contests, Inman farmer takes top prize

At the close of each year, entries file into the Kansas Soybean office showcasing stellar yields and high-quality soybeans. The 2021 contest was no different.

“An increase of 100-bushel club inductees and higher contest averages indicate that Kansas farmers are able to utilize available technology to maximize yields,” Sarah Lancaster, contest committee co-chair, says.

The top prize in the Yield Contest came out of the irrigated division with Inman farmer Chad Penner submitting a 111.52 bushel-per-acre entry. The top dryland honor went to HBJ farms in White Cloud with 97.61 bushels per acre. Henry Farms, Robinson, came away with the highest-value entry at a $1.37 premium over cash value.

In the north-northeast corner of the state, Michael Oltjen, Robinson, submitted the top yield in the conventional-till dryland category at 97.1 bushels per acre. Brandon Geiger, Highland, earned second with 94.97 bushels per acre. Olson Family Farms, Everest, came in third with a yield of 90.54 bushels per acre.

In the no-till dryland category of the north-northeast division, HBJ farms took first with the same entry that topped the statewide dryland division, 97.61 bushels per acre. Nate and Laura Thompson, Fall City, Nebraska, took second with a yield of 90.38 bushels per acre and Henry Farms, Robinson, earned third with 89.64 bushels per acre.

In northeast Kansas’ no-till dryland division, Greg Vering of Marysville submitted the winning entry of 92.48 bushels per acre. Bigham Farms, Grantville, earned second in this division with 73.15 bushels per acre.

The north central conventional-till dryland division had one entry, Rod Stewart of Washington, with a yield entry of 92.51 bushels per acre.

Ryan Stewart of Washington topped the north central no-till dryland division with an entry of 93.16 bushels per acre. Shelly Sexton, Abilene, came away with second at a yield of 66.82 bushels per acre.

Doug Shoup, Scranton, took first in the east central no-till dryland division with a yield of 84.11 bushels per acre.

In the southeast conventional-till dryland division, Brad Ensminger, Moran, submitted a 78.76 bushel-per-acre entry to earn first place.

The south central conventional-till dryland division had a top entry of 75.73 bushels per acre, submitted by Bruce Seiler of Colwich. Theresa Seiler took second with 74.72 bushels per acre.

R&J Ensz Farms, Inman, submitted a 91.10 bushel-per-acre yield to top the south central no-till dryland division.

The winning entry in the northwest no-till dryland division was submitted by RTC Farms of Norton with 97.57 bushels per acre.

Overall irrigated division winner Chad Penner topped the conventional-till category with his 111.52 bushel-per-acre entry. Robbie Yost, Montezuma, took second with 105.58 bushels per acre and K&K Baker Farms of Hoxie earned third with 95.25 bushels per acre.

Love and Love Farms, Montezuma, topped with no-till irrigated division with a yield of 107.40 bushels per acre. Calvin Yoder, Hutchinson, submitted the second-place entry at 101.60 bushels per acre and Precision Farms LLC, Hiawatha, came in third with 97.21 bushels per acre.

Twenty-three entries were submitted into the Yield Contest equaling an average yield of 91.3, which is more than a 10-bushel increase over the 2020 contest average. Chad Penner, Robbie Yost and Calvin Yoder all joined the Kansas Soybean Hundred Bushel Club this year, an honor bestowed to those who harvest a yield over 100 bushels per acre.

Twenty-five individuals across Kansas entered the 2021 value contest. Following the top entry from Henry Farms, Precision Farms LLC earned second place in the value contest with a sample that was a $1.35 premium over the cash price. Olson Family Farms, Everest, had the third-place entry at a premium of $1.33. The value contest analyzes a 20-ounce sample for its value-added qualities and calculates a value.

The Kansas Soybean Commission provides monetary awards to finalists each year. The highest dryland and irrigated yields in the state each receive a $1,000 award. In each district and the value contest, first place receives $300, second receives $200, and third receives $100.

Winners received recognition at the 2022 Kansas Soybean Expo January 12. Full results and production practices are listed in the official contest document at www.kansassoybeans.org/contests.